Tuesday, March 26, 2013
Kelsey's Law Protects Teen Drivers
However, there are exceptions to the new ban. Kelsey's Law does not apply to hands-free telephone services like Chevy MyLink. In addition, exceptions will be made for new drivers reporting traffic accidents, medical emergencies, road hazards, or criminal activity.
Kelsey's Law was created in honor of Kelsey Raffaele, from Sault Ste. Marie, who died in a cell phone related, distracted driving accident in 2010 at just 17 years old. And while you may be questioning how effectively Kelsey's Law will Protect Teen Drivers, police officials show proof with past driver-safety laws. For example, the seat-belt requirement and texting ban have resulted in more drivers wearing their seat-belts and less drivers texting while driving. Overall, the new ban will compliment current efforts to educate young drivers about the dangers of distracted driving and will enforce the message that distracted driving can have fatal consequences.
Help us keep our young drivers safe out on the road by demonstrating and educating them about safe driving practices. To take a look at some vehicles equipped with the hands-free Chevy MyLink, like the 2013 Chevy Traverse or 2013 Chevy Cruze, stop by your Mid-Michigan Chevy Dealer. Graff Bay City is located at 3636 Wilder Road, Bay City, MI 48706. For more information on Graff Bay City, or for any questions call us at (989) 684-4411 or visit our websites: www.GraffBayCity.com.
Follow us: Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Google+
*Michigan Level 1 licensees have completed a minimum of 6 hours of driving time, have been observed driving for at least 4 hours and can only drive with a parent or licensed adult. Level 2 drivers have had their learner's permit for a minimum of 6 months and are only allowed to drive between the hours of 5am-10pm, unless driving to or from work.